Online Library Resources

• The West Los Angeles College Library is open with new Fall hours. Please visit the WLAC Library website for our hours.  
• Reference service from a librarian is available online and in person. Visit the Reference Desk during our operating hours. You can also e-mail, call or chat with us. (see the Contact Us tab for more information).
• Browse through more tabs on this page for access to databases, eBooks, and more. 
• Click here for the latest information from LACCD about COVID-19. 

Our Databases are available 24/7. Below are some of our most popular Databases:

• ProQuest: Articles from over 4,000 academic and popular magazines and journals
• JSTOR: Exclusively academic and scholarly journals for a variety of disciplines, primary sources and books. 
• EBSCO Academic Search Complete
• GALE Academic OneFile
• National Newspaper Core: Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and many more newspaper publications. 

  ---

  Not finding what you are looking for? Try our complete list of A-Z Databases.

You must be currently enrolled to access the library's databases. Login information for remote access to databases is explained below:

Students

USERNAME = your 9 digit Student ID number

PASSWORD/PIN = your 4 digit date of birth (MMDD format)

***Example***

Student User name: 881234567 (9 digit student ID)
Student Password/PIN: 0225 (date of birth February 25)

Faculty and Staff

USERNAME = your Network ID (same as your WLAC desktop login)

PASSWORD = same as your WLAC desktop login password

If you are unable to login to the library's databases, please click on one of the forms below to request a password reset. You will receive confirmation via e-mail when our systems librarian resets your password. It may take up to 24 business hours to complete your request.

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial.  The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.

Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:

1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.

2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.

3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.

At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.

The library has many databases that contain eBooks. This tutorial shows a step-by-step process for finding eBooks using our Primo OneSearch catalog. 

Additionally, we have a number of eBook collections listed below:

• Ebook Central: (formerly ebrary) Academic Complete subscription and permanent collection with over 128,000 academic ebooks
• EBSCOhost eBooks: Academic Collection subscription with over 138,000 ebooks available
• EBSCOhost Audiobook Collection
• Gale Virtual Reference Library: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
• SpringerLink: ebooks on science and technology

View a complete list of our online research guides. This is where librarians have gathered subject specific lists of databases and other helpful research tips for you. These guides also include help with citation styles.

Free access to Microsoft Office Suite

WLAC students have free access to Microsoft products through the district portal:
1. Login to the portal with your LACCD credentials.
2. Click on "Mail" button and confirm your login.
3. Your online apps will show, but if you want to download Word or PowerPoint to your computer to work offline, click on the "Install Office" button on the top-right

Online media options:

LA County Library offers access to films and documentaries through a variety of platforms. A library card is required.

LA Public Library E-Media and Digital Content. The LA Public Library offers access to many films and documentaries through a variety of platforms. A library card is required.