Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 103 - Okawa

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

If you need help resetting your pin, please visit this page.

ProQuest Video Tutorial

Library Catalog

onesearch icon

Find books, articles, and more.

Advanced Search

Recommended Databases

ProQuest is one of our most popular databases. It covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more. This would be a great place to search for current events information.

In addition to ProQuest, we have other specialized literature databases that might be helpful:
  • Gale Literature: Integrated search of Contemporary Authors(CA), Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB), Contemporary Literary Criticism(CLC), Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors
  • Gale ebooks: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
  • JSTOR: Exclusively academic and scholarly journals for a variety of disciplines, primary sources and books. 
  • Literary Reference Center Plus
  • Literature Resource Center: Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews
  • Oxford English Dictionary - OED Online: The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium
  • Salem Literature: Magill's Literary Annual, essay-reviews of outstanding books published in the United states
  • Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
  • Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series
In addition, we have some health-related databases, which may be helpful:

Database Searching

Below are suggested databases and search tips for your research.

  • Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously. 
    Example: slavery AND children
  • Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either of two or more keywords
    Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
    Example: (domestic OR household)
  • Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
    Example: "emancipation proclamation"
  • Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
    Example: wom* retrieves women, woman, women's.
  • Limit results to academic or scholarly sources for academic sources.
  • Limit results to reviews to see just book reviews.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search. 
Example: ("domestic slave" OR "house slave") AND wom*

Contact Us

Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Student Computer Support: http://www.wlac.edu/library/Online.aspx

Librarian