English 103 - Okawa

Find books, articles, and more. OneSearch is now available in Spanish!

Advanced Search | Research Databases

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial.  The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.

Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:

1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.

2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.

3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.

At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.

ProQuest is one of our most popular databases. It covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more. This would be a great place to search for current events information.

• Gale Literature: Integrated search of Contemporary Authors(CA), Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB), Contemporary Literary Criticism(CLC), Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors
• Gale ebooks: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
• JSTOR: Exclusively academic and scholarly journals for a variety of disciplines, primary sources and books. 
• Literary Reference Center Plus
• Literature Resource Center: Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews
• Oxford English Dictionary - OED Online: The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium
• Salem Literature: Magill's Literary Annual, essay-reviews of outstanding books published in the United states
• Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
• Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series

• Health Source: Consumer Edition
• Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
• Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Medicine Module
• Health Reference Center Academic

Below are suggested databases and search tips for your research.

• Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously. 
  Example: slavery AND children
• Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either of two or more keywords
  Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
  Example: (domestic OR household)
• Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
  Example: "emancipation proclamation"
• Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
  Example: wom* retrieves women, woman, women's.
• Limit results to academic or scholarly sources for academic sources.
• Limit results to reviews to see just book reviews.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search. 
Example: ("domestic slave" OR "house slave") AND wom*

Spring 2024 In-Person Hours (Feb 6 - Jun 2)

Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: Closed

Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Sunday and Holidays: Closed