Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Basics

Contact Us

Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Student Computer Support: http://www.wlac.edu/library/Online.aspx

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

If you need help resetting your pin, please visit this page.

ProQuest Video Tutorial

Library Catalog

onesearch icon

Find books, articles, and more.

Advanced Search

Recommended Databases

ProQuest is one of our most popular databases. It covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more. This would be a great place to search for current events information.

You can also use any of our other databases from the complete list on the library's website. 

Database Searching

Below are suggested databases and search tips for your research.

  • Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously. 
    Example: slavery AND children
  • Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either of two or more keywords
    Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
    Example: (domestic OR household)
  • Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
    Example: "emancipation proclamation"
  • Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
    Example: wom* retrieves women, woman, women's.
  • Limit results to academic or scholarly sources for academic sources.
  • Limit results to reviews to see just book reviews.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search. 
Example: ("domestic slave" OR "house slave") AND wom*

Library Hours

 

MON, AUG 31 – SAT, DEC 19

Mon - Thurs: 7:30 am - 8 pm

Friday: 9 am – 1 pm

Saturday: 11 am – 3 pm

 

 


 

Librarian