Skip to main content

English 102 - Puterbaugh

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

Print Resources

Recommended Databases

The Library's databases allow access to information that is not freely available on the internet, and sources that have been vetted for credibility. In addition to academic journals,databases can include newspapers, magazines, trade journals and other sources. Check with your professor about any source requirements before you begin your research. 

Exclusively academic and scholarly journals for a variety of disciplines, primary sources and books. JSTOR can be useful when researching art movements and art history topics. 
 
Full text scholarly journal articles covering the humanities, and social sciences. This includes many articles on contemporary art topics and reviews. 
 

Database Searching Tips and Tools

Below are some tips and reminders when you are searching in our databases:

  • Use quotations around your search terms to search for your exact phrase(s).
  • Use AND, OR, or NOT to connect your search terms.
  • Narrow by date range and content type (scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, reports, etc.)
  • Use truncation to find variations of words. For example, “alcohol*” will search for and locate “alcohol”, “alcoholics”, and “alcoholism”.

Do you need more help? Visit any Librarian at the Reference Desk during our operating hours.

Contact Us

Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Student Computer Support: http://www.wlac.edu/library/Online.aspx

Library Hours

 

Monday-Thursday    8:00am - 3:00pm

 

 


 

Librarian