Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 101 - Ames

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

 

If you need help resetting your pin, please visit this page.

Library Catalog

onesearch icon

Find books, articles, and more.

Advanced Search

Print Resources

Recommended Databases

The Library's databases allow access to information that is not freely available on the internet, and sources that have been vetted for credibility. In addition to academic journals,databases can include newspapers, magazines, trade journals and other sources. Check with your professor about any source requirements before you begin your research. 

EBSCOhost discovery service

An all-inclusive search solution that makes in-depth research easy.

Gale portal

Scholarly resources include databases and primary sources, as well as learning resources and products for schools and libraries.

Database Searching Tips and Tools

Below are some tips and reminders when you are searching in our databases:

  • Use quotations around your search terms to search for your exact phrase(s).
  • Use AND, OR, or NOT to connect your search terms.
  • Narrow by date range and content type (scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, reports, etc.)
  • Use truncation to find variations of words. For example, “alcohol*” will search for and locate “alcohol”, “alcoholics”, and “alcoholism”.

Do you need more help? Visit any Librarian at the Reference Desk during our operating hours.

Contact Us

Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Student Computer Support: http://www.wlac.edu/library/Online.aspx

Library Hours

 

MON, JUN 14 – SUN, AUG 8

Mon - Thurs: 8:00 am - 3 pm

 

 


 

Virtual Study Rooms

While West Los Angeles College Library is closed, learning online doesn't mean you have to study alone. Just invite fellow students and set a regular study time!

Create and use a free Zoom video conferencing account to meet with other students in a virtual study room (if you already have a LACCD Zoom account, you can skip this step).

How to Create Your Free Zoom Account:

1. Create a free Zoom account. (Free accounts provide unlimited 1-on-1 meetings and 40 minute meetings for groups.)

2. If you need help with setting up a Zoom account, visit: Getting Started with Zoom or Zoom Tutorials

Sign up for a Virtual Study Room!

While we can't replicate the nice, quiet study space you've used in the HLRC, here's an option for you to try: virtual study rooms. 

To reserve a study room, visit our Appointments page:

https://wlac.libcal.com/appointments/virtualstudyrooms

Select the date and time you want to reserve, then click Continue.

Librarian