Skip to Main Content

English 101 - Setka

Recommended Databases

The Library's databases allow access to information that is not freely available on the internet, and sources that have been vetted for credibility. In addition to academic journals,databases can include newspapers, magazines, trade journals and other sources. Check with your professor about any source requirements before you begin your research. 

Click on a title below to connect to each database:

Exclusively academic and scholarly journals for a variety of disciplines, primary sources and books. JSTOR can be used to resarch many topics including literature, history and art. 
Full text scholarly journal articles covering the humanities, and social sciences. This includes many articles on contemporary art topics and reviews. 
This database can be used to research any topic including the humanities. 
 
You can also use try searching any database from the library's complete A-Z list of databases.

Scholarly vs Popular Sources

You ask: My professor says I have to use 3 scholarly sources. What does this mean?

We answer: When doing research for your courses, it is important to know the difference between journal articles and magazine/newspaper articles. Journal articles which are written by experts in the given field, are considered “scholarly”. Scholarly articles are also referred to as “peer reviewed” articles because they have been reviewed and critiqued by the author’s “peers” (experts in the same subject area). Popular sources, on the other hand, refers to general interest publications like magazines and newspaper for the public.

Comparison Chart

  Scholarly Source Popular Source
                        Image result for journal of neuroscience                             Image result for time magazine
Content (accuracy)

In-depth with original (primary) research

with goal of scholarly communication.

Secondary research (discussion of someone else's

research) including news reporting, narratives, or

opinions for the purpose of informing or entertaining
Author (authority) Usually a scholar or specialist in the subject area

Usually a journalist or professional in the field paid

to write articles with no or some subject expertise
Audience (coverage) Scholars, researchers, and students General public
References (objectivity)

Required with documentation of sources

in the appropriate style (e.g., Chicago, MLA, etc.);

facts and quotes are verifiable.   

 Not required; source materials are not often provided
Other Examples

Journal of International Development,

The American Economic Review, PLOS One,

JAMA *Most titles containing the word "Journal"

National Geographic, Scientific American, Discover,

Sports Illustrated, Newsweek

Acknowledgement: Adapted from the chart created by Middlebury Libraries.

Database Searching Tips and Tools

Below are some tips and reminders when you are searching in our databases:

  • Use quotations around your search terms to search for your exact phrase(s).
  • Use AND, OR, or NOT to connect your search terms.
  • Narrow by date range and content type (scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, reports, etc.)
  • Use truncation to find variations of words. For example, “alcohol*” will search for and locate “alcohol”, “alcoholics”, and “alcoholism”.

Do you need more help with your research? Below are some options: