Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

 

If you need help resetting your pin, please visit this page.

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial.  The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.

 

Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:

1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.

2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.

3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.

 

At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.

Print Resources

Recommended Databases

The Library's databases allow access to information that is not freely available on the internet, and sources that have been vetted for credibility. In addition to academic journals,databases can include newspapers, magazines, trade journals and other sources. Check with your professor about any source requirements before you begin your research. 

Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. 
Exclusively academic and scholarly journals for a variety of disciplines, primary sources and books. JSTOR can be useful when researching art movements and art history topics. 
Full text scholarly journal articles covering the humanities, and social sciences. This includes many articles on contemporary art topics and reviews. 
Find articles, reviews, and other content on Music, Theatre, Film, TV, Dance, Architecture, Art and Design. 
Biography In Context can be used when researching artists. This resource offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Other helpful websites

The list below includes other web sites and library archives that may be helpful to your film research.

Local Museums:

The Huntington Library

Los Angeles County Museum of Art

MOCA - The Museum of Contemporary Art, L.A.

MOLAA - Museum of Latin American Art, Long Beach

On-line Journals

Communication ArtsOnline index to CA magazine including resources and job links for designers, illustrators, and art directors.

 

Contact Us

Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Student Computer Support: http://www.wlac.edu/library/Online.aspx

Library Hours

 

Fall 2022 In-Person Library Hours

Monday: 9am-8pm

Tuesday: 9am-5pm

Wednesday: 9am-8pm

Thursday: 9am-5pm

 

September 5: Closed

November 24: Closed

 

 

 


 

WLAC Librarian

Profile Photo
Maria Yanez
she/they
Contact:
310-287-4433