Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format).
Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:
User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225
If you need help resetting your pin, please visit this page.
Below are recommended databases to help with your research needs:
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
ProQuest Research Library is a periodical database with newspapers and wire feeds, magazines, trade journals (specialized magazines), and scholarly journals including peer-reviewed. In this database you will find full-text articles plus citations and abstracts.
Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources.
Documents
Select a chapter title below to open and download the PDF
Chapter 3 Structuring an Essay (Lincke-Ivic)
Chapter 6 Building Your Vocabulary (Lincke-Ivic)
Chapter 7 Learning the Rules Like a Pro (Lincke-Ivic)
Web sites
Bureau of Justice Statistics : Provides information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Library of Congress: Contains many digitized primary sources on a variety of topics.
National Center for Education Statistics: The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
United States Census Bureau: Provides data on people and economy.
This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial. The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.
Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:
1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.
2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.
3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.
At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.
Chat with a librarian any time! Library Student Computer Support: http://www.wlac.edu/library/Online.aspx
Spring 2023 In-Person Library Hours
(February 7 - June 5)
Monday: 9am-8pm
Tuesday: 9am-5pm
Wednesday: 9am-8pm
Thursday: 9am-5pm
