Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 101 - Lincke-Ivic

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

If you need help resetting your pin, please visit this page.

ProQuest Video Tutorial

Recommended Databases

The Library's databases allow access to information that is not freely available on the internet, and sources that have been vetted for credibility. In addition to academic journals,databases can include newspapers, magazines, trade journals and other sources. Check with your professor about any source requirements before you begin your research. 

Academic Search Complete
This database covers multiple disciplines and a variety of formats including academic sources as well as newspapers, magazines and more.
Nexis Uni
Oxford English Dictionary Online
ProQuest
WestlawNext Campus Research

Other helpful websites

Below is a list of other websites that may be helpful for your research:

Library of Congress: Contains many digitized primary sources on a variety of topics.

RACE

Census.govRace - United States Census Bureau

More Hispanics Declaring Themselves White - The New York Times

EDUCATIONAL STATISTICS AMONG DIFFERENT RACES

National Center for Education Statistics 

Educational Attainment of Young Adults - US Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics.

OVERALL POPULATION STATISTICS: MAJORITY/MINORITY RACIAL POPULATIONS 

United Stats Census Bureau Quick Facts 

 

RACIAL GROUPS, IN NUMBERS AND PERCENTAGES, iNCARCERATED IN STATE AND FEDERAL JAILS—AND TYPES OF CRIMES 

Bureau of Justice Statistics : Provides information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. 

Prisoners in 2014 - Bureau of Justice Statistics

 

POVERTY STATISTICS, IN NUMBERS AND PERCENTAGES, FOR RACIAL GROUPS

Poverty - Census.gov

 

HOME OWNERSHIP IN THE U.S. FOR RACIAL GROUPS 

The homeownership rate - Census.gov

 

Contact Us

Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Student Computer Support: http://www.wlac.edu/library/Online.aspx

Library Hours

 

MON, AUG 31 – SAT, DEC 19

Mon - Thurs: 7:30 am - 8 pm

Friday: 9 am – 1 pm

Saturday: 11 am – 3 pm

 

 


 

Virtual Study Rooms

While West Los Angeles College Library is closed, learning online doesn't mean you have to study alone. Just invite fellow students and set a regular study time!

Create and use a free Zoom video conferencing account to meet with other students in a virtual study room (if you already have a LACCD Zoom account, you can skip this step).

How to Create Your Free Zoom Account:

1. Create a free Zoom account. (Free accounts provide unlimited 1-on-1 meetings and 40 minute meetings for groups.)

2. If you need help with setting up a Zoom account, visit: Getting Started with Zoom or Zoom Tutorials

Sign up for a Virtual Study Room!

While we can't replicate the nice, quiet study space you've used in the HLRC, here's an option for you to try: virtual study rooms. 

To reserve a study room, visit our Appointments page:

https://wlac.libcal.com/appointments/virtualstudyrooms

Select the date and time you want to reserve, then click Continue.

WLAC Librarian

Maria Yanez's picture
Maria Yanez
Contact:
310-287-4433