Maria Template Fall 2023

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

Below are some library databases that are recommended for your research needs. Click on the database title to connect to each database: 

• Environmental Studies provides news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics in highly accessible, visually appealing research areas, covering relevant categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development. It also offers interactive maps and contextual multimedia, customizable journals and news, and refereed case studies.

• GreenFILE is a research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. 

• Access World News Research Collection allows users to research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Health, Science, Humanities and more. This database features information from a wide varety of international, national and local news sources.

• ProQuest covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more.

You can also view our complete A-Z list of all library databases.

Below are some tips and reminders when you are searching in our databases:

• Use quotations around your search terms to search for your exact phrase(s).
  • Examples: "climate change" or "zero waste"
• Boolean operators: Use AND, OR, or NOT to connect your search terms.
  • Example: "climate change" AND "health impacts"
• Search for specific groups, places, and/or specific environmental issues.
  • Example: "Environmental justice" AND "Native Americans"
• Narrow by date range and content type.
  • Example: A date range of 2019-2023 and limit results to newspaper articles
• Use truncation with an asterisk (*) to find term variations. 
  • Example: leader* returns leader, leaders, leadership
• Look at an article or book chapter's reference list! This is a great way to find other sources related to a topic.

Below are a few database video tutorials that demonstrate how to perform a search: