Spanish Language Research Guide

More Books and Ebooks

Find more Spanish language Ebooks and print books in the WLAC Library catalog. The WLAC Library Catalog is also available in a Spanish interface.

Video Resources

• Spanish Lessons for Beginners | Take Lessons Youtube

Heritage Spanish Speaker Resources

• The Texas Coalition for Heritage Spanish
• Spanish Grammar in Context | University of Texas COERLL

Below are library databases that contain Spanish language articles and journals:

• Informe Academico - Informe académico contains a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America, with an emphasis on the social science and humanities, with some titles in the sciences and medicine. 
• JSTOR - JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature. To limit results to Spanish-language articles, go to "Advanced Search", and under "Narrow By" select the pull down menu by clicking on "Languages" and choose "Spanish."
• Project Muse - Searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others. To limit to Spanish, go to the Filter Results column at left and click the box Spanish in the Language choices below.
• ProQuest Central - ProQuest Central indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided. To search in Spanish, click on the white portrait image in the green bar at the right, click on the displayed language (usually English) and select "Espanol" from the dropdown list.

View more WLAC library databases that offer Spanish content.

• Diccionario panhispánico de dudas -  A comprehensive reference guide, created by the Royal Spanish Academy and the Association of Academies of the Spanish Language, that answers questions about the proper use of Spanish. This resources covers pronunciation, grammar, and syntax, while acknowledging the variations across Spanish-speaking countries. 

• Diccionario de la Lengua Española | Real Academia Española -  This is considered the most authoritative dictionary for the Spanish language. It includes commonly used words in any of the Spanish speaking countries. It also includes numerous archaic and unusual words with aims of understanding ancient Spanish literature.

• Diccionario del Español de México | El Colegio de México - A comprehensive dictionary of Spanish in its Mexican variety.  All the vocabulary it includes has been used or is being used in Mexico since at least 1921.

• Centro Virtual Cervantes - The Centro Virtual Cervantes provides extensive information about Spanish language and culture. Includes thousands of pages of cultural interest, material for learning Spanish, discussion forums, databases, reference works, a magazine on language and culture, a specialized search engine which provides direct access to many pages on language, literature, dictionaries, media, etc. In Spanish.

• Biblioteca Digital Hispánica - The Biblioteca Digital Hispánica is the digital library of Biblioteca Nacional de España. It provides free access to thousands of digitised documents, including printed books, manuscripts, drawings, engravings, pamphlets, posters, photographs, maps, atlases, music scores, historic newspapers and magazines and audio recordings.