Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 420 - Manner

This guide contains resources for English 420, including recommended databases and video tutorials.

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). You can also go directly to https://library.wlac.edu.

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

Library Catalog

onesearch icon

You can search for books by entering your search terms in the search box and clicking the Search button. Your search will take you to the Primo OneSearch library catalog, where you can view books on your search topic(s).

Advanced Search

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial.  The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.

 

Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:

1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.

2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.

3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.

 

At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.

ProQuest Databases

Watch the video tutorial below for a demonstration of how to search ProQuest databases.

Search ProQuest below for articles related to dental hygiene or mortuary studies.

Database Searching

Below are suggested databases and search tips for your research.

  • Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously. 
    Example: cavities AND flossing
  • Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either of two or more keywords
    Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
    Example: (cavities OR caries)
  • Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
    Example: "tooth decay"
  • Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
    Example: teen* retrieves teens, teenager, teenagers, teenaged.
  • Limit results to academic or scholarly sources for academic sources.
  • Limit results to reviews to see just book reviews.
  • Limit results to desired time period

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search. 
Example: ("tooth decay" OR caries OR cavities) AND (children OR youth OR adolescen*)

Other Helpful Resources

Find additional information through the following databases.

Library Hours

 

Fall 2022 In-Person Library Hours

Monday: 9am-8pm

Tuesday: 9am-5pm

Wednesday: 9am-8pm

Thursday: 9am-5pm

 

September 5: Closed

November 24: Closed

 

 

 


 

Chat

Can't make it to the library? Chat with a librarian any time!

live help