Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Studies - Alexander

This is a guide for students of Communications Studies enrolled in Professor Alexander's class with links to the library databases to be used in her class as well as search tips.

Remote Access


Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format).

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial.  The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.

 

Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:

1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.

2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.

3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.

 

At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.

Recommended Databases

Search ProQuest for articles about your topic. It offers a wide breadth of information from a variety of sources, including magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals and more.

Search Nexis Uni below for landmark court case decisions, newspaper articles, articles from law reviews and more.

Database Searching Tips

Below are some suggested databases for your research as well as some search tips.

  • Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously.
    Example: immigration AND border control
  • Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either two or more keywords
    Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
    Example: (dog OR canine)
  • Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
    Example: "genetically modified food"
  • Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
    Example: parent* retrieves parent, parents, parenting, parenthood, etc.
  • Limit your results to academic or scholarly sources if you need academic sources.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search.
Example: juvenile* AND ("death penalty" OR "capital punishment")

Click the link below for a video tutorial and search tips for using ProQuest

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

24-hour Chat

live help

Library Hours

 

Fall 2022 In-Person Library Hours

Monday: 9am-8pm

Tuesday: 9am-5pm

Wednesday: 9am-8pm

Thursday: 9am-5pm

 

September 5: Closed

November 24: Closed