Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format).
Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:
User name: 881234567
This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial. The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.
Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:
1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.
2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.
3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.
At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.
Below are some suggested databases for your research as well as some search tips.
Putting it all together
Use all the above search tip sto refine your search.
Example: juvenile* AND ("death penalty" OR "capital punishment")
Click the link below for a video tutorial and search tips for using ProQuest
This databases contains specialized encyclopedias. This is a great starting point for a broad overview of your topic.
Search ProQuest for articles about your topic. It offers a wide breadth of information from a variety of sources, including magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals and more.
Search Opposing Viewpoints for different points of views on current and controversial topics.
Click CQ Researcher below to search for different points of vew on current and controversial issues.
Spring 2023 In-Person Library Hours
(February 7 - June 5)
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday, Holidays: Closed