Skip to Main Content

Child Development - Smith

This page contains one or more boxes in non-visible columns. To resolve this issue, use the Reorder Boxes option under the PAGE menu to move the boxes into a visible column. The boxes can also be deleted if they are no longer needed.

Remote Access


Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name and password. Use the same log-in credentials you use to check your student e-mail to access electronic resources.

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial.  The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.

 

Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:

1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.

2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.

3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.

 

At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.

Database Searching Tips

Below are some suggested databases for your research as well as some search tips.

  • Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously.
    Example: immigration AND border control
  • Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either two or more keywords
    Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
    Example: (dog OR canine)
  • Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
    Example: "genetically modified food"
  • Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
    Example: parent* retrieves parent, parents, parenting, parenthood, etc.
  • Limit your results to academic or scholarly sources if you need academic sources.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search.
Example: juvenile* AND ("death penalty" OR "capital punishment")

Click the link below for a video tutorial and search tips for using ProQuest

Though this video tutorial is for ProQuest, the same search techniques will work for OneSearch.

Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search all library databases and other holdings through a single search system. This is the recommended place to start your research. The video tutorial above, though demonstrating ProQuest, will still be useful for searching OneSearch as the search techniques are similar.

Psychology Databases by ProQuest

Searching Psychology Databases by ProQuest casts a smaller net than searching OneSearch. Instead of searching all library databases, you're  searching just the psychology databases from ProQuest. This can be useful when you have an overwhelming number of results to search through but the search tips below should help with that.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection by Ebscohost

Searching the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection by Ebsco is similar to searching Psychology Databases by ProQuest in that you are searching a small set of discipline-specific databases instead of all library holdings. It includes PsycArticles and other useful databases.

Library Hours

Spring 2024 In-Person Hours (Feb 6 - Jun 2)

Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: Closed

Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Sunday and Holidays: Closed

24-hour Chat

live help

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Susan Trujillo
Contact:
310-287-4269