Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format).
Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:
User name: 881234567
This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial. The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.
Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:
1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.
2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.
3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.
At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.
The Library's databases allow access to information that is not freely available on the internet, and sources that have been vetted for credibility. In addition to academic journals, databases can include newspapers, magazines, trade journals and other sources. Check with your professor about any source requirements before you begin your research.
Below is a list of a few suggested databases for you English 101 topics.
You an also try using any of the databases found on our complete A-Z list.
Below are some tips and reminders when you are searching in our databases:
Do you need more help? E-mail me to set up a research appointment! Or visit any Librarian at the Reference Desk during our operating hours.
Fall 2023 In-Person Hours (Aug 28 - Dec 17)
Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sunday and Holidays: Closed
While West Los Angeles College Library is closed, learning online doesn't mean you have to study alone. Just invite fellow students and set a regular study time!
Create and use a free Zoom video conferencing account to meet with other students in a virtual study room (if you already have a LACCD Zoom account, you can skip this step).
1. Create a free Zoom account. (Free accounts provide unlimited 1-on-1 meetings and 40 minute meetings for groups.)
While we can't replicate the nice, quiet study space you've used in the HLRC, here's an option for you to try: virtual study rooms.
To reserve a study room, visit our Appointments page:
Select the date and time you want to reserve, then click Continue.