What is an annotated bibliography?

A bibliography is a list of books and an annotated bibliography is a list of citations for books and other sources on a particular topic accompanied by an annotation, a summary and r evaluation of the source. 

Additional Information and Examples

See the guide on annotated bibliographies from the University of Nevada for pointers and a sample annotated bibliography.

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University also provides a good explanation of annotated bibliographies with examples. 

Citations 

This brief slide show presentation is a tutorial on creating APA citations.  

The OWL at Purdue offers more comprehensive instruction in APA citations with additional examples. 

Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal

Video Tutorial

The brief video tutorial (just 6 minutes!) the from Cal State Fresno defines and describes an article from a scholarly journal so you can recognize them when you are researching your topic.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal

Cheat Sheet

The document below from the American Psychological Association is an even briefer checklist of components of an article from a scholarly journal to help you recognize and find scholarly journal articles. 

https://apastyle.apa.org/instructional-aids/anatomy-journal-article.pdf 

Reading a Scholarly Article

This short article from Brigham Young University describes how to read a scholarly article more efficiently. For this class, the methodology is important! Please skim the methodology as well.

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

The library is offering an online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial.  The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.

Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:

1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.

2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.

3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.

At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.

Below are suggested databases and search tips for your research.

• Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously. 
  Example: slavery AND children
• Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either of two or more keywords
  Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
  Example: (domestic OR household)
• Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
  Example: "emancipation proclamation"
• Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
  Example: wom* retrieves women, woman, women's.
• Limit results to academic or scholarly sources for academic sources.
• Limit results to reviews to see just book reviews.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search. 
Example: ("domestic slave" OR "house slave") AND wom*

Fall 2025 (Sep 2 - Dec 21)

Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Closed Fridays, Sundays, and holidays.
We are open 24/7 online!

Can't make it to the library? Chat with a librarian any time!