Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format).
Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:
User name: 881234567
ProQuest is one of our most popular databases. It covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more. This would be a great place to search for current events information.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context examines controversial issues and hot topics from different perspectives. It's also very handy for browsing research paper topics!
Similar to Opposing Viewpoints, CQ Researcher also analyzes the pros and cons of a large selection of current topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library consists of many specialized encyclopedias and is ideal for finding a basic overview of topics. Encyclopedic information that you would find in this database is not updated as current as information from newspapers and magazines you'd find in ProQuest but it's a good place to start understanding your topic.
This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial. The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.
Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:
1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.
2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.
3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.
At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.
Fall 2023 In-Person Hours (Aug 28 - Dec 17)
Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sunday and Holidays: Closed