The OWL at Purdue (Purdue University's Online Writing Lab) has developed many helpful formatting and style guides with include citation and quotation examples, as well as sample papers.
If you need more assistance with citations, contact a Librarian:
Concise Guide to APA Style by
Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition is the official APA Style resource for students. Written for high school and undergraduate students, instructors, and writers learning APA Style, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. It provides complete guidance for new writers on effective, clear, and inclusive scholarly communication and the essentials of formatting papers and other course assignments. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. Full color throughout Content relevant to a range of majors and courses, including psychology, social work, criminal justice, communications, composition, education, business, engineering, and more New chapter focused on student papers Sample student title page, paper, and annotated bibliography Streamlined APA Style headings and in-text citations New chapter on writing style and grammar Chapters on punctuation, lists, italics, spelling, capitalization, abbreviations, numbers, and statistics Latest bias-free language guidelines More than 20 new sample tables and figures Comprehensive guidelines on citation to help writers credit their sources appropriately and avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism More than 100 new reference templates and examples, including traditional sources (e.g., journal articles, books, dissertations, and reports) plus many others (e.g., social media, webpages and websites, legal)
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements?facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date?that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts?middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields?the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers ? New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language ? Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project ? Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before ? A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more ? Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources ? Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work ? Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes ? Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism ? A sample essay in MLA format ? Annotated bibliography examples ? Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation ? Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
The West Guide to Writing: Success Through the Sequence from Community College to University by
Writing is a strength - or weakness - for students in all their classes. Becoming a successful writer gives students an advantage. The West Guide to Writing: Success from Community College to University gives the reader the keys to succeed! Written by three full-time English professors with a combined thirty years of teaching at both the community college and university levels, The West Guide to Writing is an affordable, compact, comprehensive, timely, and accurate textbook. The West Guide to Writing: Success from Community College to University: Is the only composition textbook students will ever need! The textbook can be used at any level in the composition sequence, from the foundational classes to advanced classes such as ""Critical Thinking and Composition"" and ""Introduction to Literature."" Includes numerous instructor resources to make the transition easy! A teacher's guide, sample syllabi for various course levels, and recommended supplemental readings are provided on an accompanying website. Features a nice balance of readings - including some favorite standards to illustrate concepts. Presents unique student success and learning tools - including time management, learning styles, active reading, student and class success strategies, and more to enhance students' entire educational experience. Blends a composition textbook with an MLA/APA/Chicago Style guidebook - includes basic grammatical concepts that students encounter on a consistent basis.
Citation Tools
Citation Managers
