Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology 001 - White

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). You can also go directly to https://library.wlac.edu.

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

Recommended Sociology Databases

Click on a database title below to connect to and research that database: 

 

ProQuest covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more. 

JSTOR contains scholarly journal articles on a variety of topics, including sociology, literature, political science, history and more.

Gale

  • Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

  • Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library/GVRL) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. 

EBSCO

  • Academic Search Complete is one of the EBSCO databases that provides access to scholarly, multi-disciplinary and full-articles, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

  • CINAHL Complete is one of the best research tools for nursing and allied health professionals that provides access to top nursing & allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.

  • EBSCOhost e-Books  contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook

 

You can also view and search our complete list of databases.

 

Database Searching Tips and Tools!

Below are some tips and reminders when you are searching in our databases:

  • Use quotations around your search terms to search for your exact phrase(s).
  • Boolean operators: Use AND, OR, or NOT to connect your search terms. Example: gender AND stereotypes
  • Narrow by date range and content type (scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, reports, etc.)
  • Use truncation with an asterisk (*) to find variations of words. For example, “alcohol*” will search for and locate “alcohol”, “alcoholics”, and “alcoholism”.

Database Video Tutorials:

Library Catalog

onesearch icon

Find books, articles, and more.

Advanced Search

There is no access to print books at this time, though they will still show up in your search results. Once you are at the search results screen, you can click "Online" to limit to online materials.

Contact Us

Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Student Computer Support: http://www.wlac.edu/library/Online.aspx

WLAC Librarian

Profile Photo
Maria Yanez
she/her
Contact:
310-287-4433