Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology 001 - White

LibGuide for Professor White's Summer 2021 Soc 001: Introduction to Sociology course.

Announcements

  • Library materials that are already checked out are now due February 22, 2022.
  • The West Los Angeles College Library is physically closed. 
  • Reference service from a librarian is available online! (see the Contact Us tab for e-mail, phone, and chat information).
  • Browse through more tabs on this page for access to databases, eBooks, and more. 
  • Click here for the latest information from LACCD about COVID-19. 

Contact Us

Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Student Computer Support: http://www.wlac.edu/library/Online.aspx

Library Hours

 

MON, JUN 14 – SUN, AUG 8

Mon - Thurs: 8:00 am - 3 pm

 

 


 

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

 

If you need help resetting your pin, please visit this page.

OneSearch

onesearch icon

Find books, articles, and more.

Advanced Search

Recommended Databases

Our Databases are available 24/7 from both on and off-campus.

ProQuest is one of our most popular databases. It covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more.

Gale databases include Gale eBooks as other health-related databases.

Use CINAHL to find top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.

You can also use any of our other databases from the complete list on the library's website. 

Database Searching

Below are suggested databases and search tips for your research.

  • Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously. 
    Example: slavery AND children
  • Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either of two or more keywords
    Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
    Example: (domestic OR household)
  • Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
    Example: "emancipation proclamation"
  • Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
    Example: wom* retrieves women, woman, women's.
  • Limit results to academic or scholarly sources for academic sources.
  • Limit results to reviews to see just book reviews.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search. 
Example: ("domestic slave" OR "house slave") AND wom*

ProQuest Video Tutorial

eBooks

The library has many databases that contain eBooks. This tutorial shows a step-by-step process for finding eBooks using our Primo OneSearch catalog

Additionally, we have a number of eBook collections listed below:

Librarian