Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 103 - Boutry

Research guide for Professor Boutry's English 103 class

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). You can also go directly to https://library.wlac.edu.

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial.  The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.

 

Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:

1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.

2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.

3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.

 

At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.

Recommended Databases

ProQuest is one of our most popular databases. It covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more. This would be a great place to search for current events information.

You can also use any of our other databases from the complete list on the library's website. 

Searching

Scroll to the bottom of the page to view the handout on database searching, search tips and recommended databases.

 

 

Search Tips and Handout

Search tips:

Filter sources to limit your search to reviews or literary criticism

Use AND to narrow your results
Ex: Humbert AND jealousy

Use OR to broaden your results
Ex: women OR girls

Use " " to search for an exact phrase
"Reading Lolita in Tehran"

Use * to retrieve forms of the word beginning with the letters before the *
Ex: adolescen* retrives adolescent, adolescence

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Susan Trujillo
Contact:
310-287-4269

24-hour Chat

live help

Library Hours

 

Fall 2022 In-Person Library Hours

Monday: 9am-8pm

Tuesday: 9am-5pm

Wednesday: 9am-8pm

Thursday: 9am-5pm

 

September 5: Closed

November 24: Closed