Skip to main content

Sociology 001 - Hernandez: Home

Start your research for Sociology 101 here.

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). You can also go directly to https://library.wlac.edu.

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

ProQuest Video Tutorial

Suggested Books

The encyclopedias below are a good starting point for your research, providing a broad overview of many topics in sociology.

Recommended Databases

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) for a broad overview on your topic. Made up of many specialized, subject-specific encyclopedias, GVRL is a great place to start your research to gain a general understanding of your topic before you begin your more focused research.

Connect to the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

 

ProQuest is one of our most popular databases. It covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more. This would be a great place to search for current events information.

 

Use JSTOR to find scholarly journal articles on a variety of topics, including sociology, literature, political science, history and more.

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

Database Searching Tips and Tools!

Below are some tips and reminders when you are searching in our databases:

  • Use quotations around your search terms to search for your exact phrase(s).
  • Use AND, OR, or NOT to connect your search terms. Example: gender AND stereotypes
  • Narrow by date range and content type (scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, reports, etc.)
  • Use truncation to find variations of words. For example, “alcohol*” will search for and locate “alcohol”, “alcoholics”, and “alcoholism”.

Do you need more help? Visit the Reference Desk during our operating hours!

Contact Us

Can't make it to the library? Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Hours

 

Monday-Thursday    7:30am - 8:00pm
Friday 9:00am - 1:00pm
Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm

 

 

Librarian

Maria Yanez's picture
Maria Yanez
Contact:
310-287-4433