Skip to main content

Film: Home

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

Print Resources

Recommended Databases

The Library's databases allow access to information that is not freely available on the internet, and sources that have been vetted for credibility. In addition to academic journals,databases can include newspapers, magazines, trade journals and other sources. Check with your professor about any source requirements before you begin your research. 

Communication and Mass Media Complete
This database covers multiple disciplines and a variety of formats including academic sources as well as newspapers, magazines and more.
JSTOR contains exclusively academic and scholarly journals for a variety of disciplines, primary sources and books. This includes film and media topics. 
Access to articles from over 4,000 academic and popular magazines and journals on a variety of topics, including film. 
Historical newspaper articles can be helpful when researching classic films and film history topics. These articles can shed light on the socio and economic events that occured during the time these films were released. 

Biography In Context can be used when researching filmmakers, actors, or screenwriters. This resource offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Other helpful websites

The list below includes other web sites and library archives that may be helpful to your film research.

Margaret Herrick Library

The Margaret Herrick Library is a world-renowned, non-circulating reference and research collection devoted to the history and development of the motion picture as an art form and an industry. The library's holdings include manuscript and photograph inventories, and databases of production art, manuscripts, academy awards, and acceptance speeches. 

American Film Institute Catalog

The AFI Catalog contains detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for every feature-length film produced in America or financed by American production companies. The AFI catalog includes entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length films and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-2011. It also includes AFI awards honorees from 2000 through 2014.

Society for Cinema and Media Studies

The Society for Cinema and Media Studies is the leading scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to promoting a broad understanding of film, television, and related media through research and teaching grounded in the contemporary humanities tradition. 

 

Contact Us

Can't make it to the library? Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Hours

 

Monday-Thursday    7:30am - 8:00pm
Friday 9:00am - 1:00pm
Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm

 

 

Librarian

Maria Yanez's picture
Maria Yanez
Contact:
310-287-4433