Skip to main content

MLA Eighth Edition STYLE GUIDE: Home

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.).

WHAT IS PLAGIARISM

The MLA Eighth Edition Handbook uses the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary to define plagiarism as "committing 'literary theft.' Plagiarism is presenting another person's ideas, information, expressions, or entire works as one's own. It is thus a kind of fraud: deceiving others to gain something of value. While plagiarism only sometimes has legal repercussions (e.g., when it involves copyright infringement--violating an author's exclusive legal right to publication), it is always a serious moral and ethical offense" (6).

Evaluating Sources

MLA Eighth Edition states, "Today the Internet, with its many publications, databases, archives, and search engines, has accelerated the process of finding and retrieving sources-but at the same time it has complicated the researcher's assessment of their reliability" (11).

AS YOU EVALUATE YOUR SOURCES,

ASK YOURSELF THE FOLLOWING:

 

WHO  is the author of the source?

WHAT  is the title of the source?

HOW  was the source published?

WHERE did you find the source?

WHEN was the source published?

MLA HANDBOOK EIGHTH EDITION IS AVAILABLE AT THE LIBRARY

 2 Copies located at the Reference Desk
 3 Copies located at the Reserve Desk      

(2-Hour check out)

UNDERSTANDING THE CORE ELEMENTS OF MLA 8TH ED. CITIATIONS

When deciding how to cite your source, start by consulting the list of core elements. These are the general pieces of information that MLA suggests including in each Works Cited entry. In your citation, the elements should be listed in the following order:

Each element should be followed by the punctuation mark shown here. Earlier editions of the handbook included the place of publication, and required punctuation such as journal editions in parentheses, and colons after issue numbers. In the current version, punctuation is simpler (just commas and periods separate the elements), and information about the source is kept to the basics.

The Purdue OWL. Purdue U Writing Lab, 2016.

PLAGIARISM? You be the judge!

Library Hours

2017/2018

Monday-Thursday    7:30am - 8:00pm
Friday    9:00am - 1:00pm
Saturday    11:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday    Closed

 

 

Chat

Can't make it to the library? Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). You can also go directly to https://library.wlac.edu.

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

Subject Guide