Dental Hygiene

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). You can also go directly to https://library.wlac.edu.

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial

This Fall 2022 Semester, the library is offering a new online OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial.  The tutorial is available in our library catalog, in many of our library research guides, and on our library website.

Upon completion of the OneSearch Library Catalog Tutorial, library patrons should be able to:

1. Find the OneSearch online library catalog.

2. Search for and locate books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more in the library's collection.

3. Request items from other LACCD libraries.

At the end of the tutorial, there is a short online quiz, which provides users feedback.

Below are a few of the print (physical) books available at the Library. For others, search the Library catalog or click below for a handy list of related books compiled by Dental Hygiene student Esther Tuchez. You can find the books on the list at the reserve desk or behind the reference desk in the Library. For electronic books, search a library database. 

Primal Pictures by AnatomyTV contains images of teeth and other dental structures as well as images of the neck and head. With the layering feature, you can add and remove layers such as muscles, arteries, veins and nerves to see just those layers. You can hover over parts of the image to see the name plus a description of the specific area of a tooth or blood vessel. This is a great database for learning the anatomy of the head and neck. Click the image below to get started!

Primal Pictures by AnatomyTV

Find dental and health articles from scholarly journals. 

Below are suggested databases and search tips for your research.

• Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously. 
  Example: slavery AND children
• Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either of two or more keywords
  Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
  Example: (domestic OR household)
• Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
  Example: "emancipation proclamation"
• Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
  Example: wom* retrieves women, woman, women's.
• Limit results to academic or scholarly sources for academic sources.
• Limit results to reviews to see just book reviews.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search. 
Example: ("domestic slave" OR "house slave") AND wom*

Find additional information through teh following databases.

Spring 2024 In-Person Hours (Feb 6 - Jun 2)

Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: Closed

Saturday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Sunday and Holidays: Closed

Can't make it to the library? Chat with a librarian any time!