Skip to main content

One College, One Book 2016/2017: Events

Learn about the College's One College, One Book initiative, including the selected book, information about the author and upcoming events related to the book.

Upcoming Events

Events being planned include additional screenings of documentaries related to the themes discussed in In Defense of Food, facilitated book discussions,lectures and more. ANY member of the West community may facilitate an event! For information, contact:

Nancy Sander, 310-287-4584, SanderN@wlac.edu
Susan Trujillo, 310-287-4406, TrujilS@wlac.edu

Lecture:
Tricknology or Technique? How Persuasive Techniques Can Make Believers

Tuesday, April 18, 1:00-2:00pm, GC140
Presenter: Kevin Coffee

Film Screenings:

Fed Up
Monday, March 6, 1-2:30pm, GC160
Tuesday, March 7, 6-7:30pm, HLRC218
Thursday, March 9, 10am-11:30pm, MSA012

Lecture:
Sugar and its Effects on the Body
Tuesday, March 7, 1:30-2:30pm, GC160
Presenter: Melinda Smith

Fed Up Sugar Challenge
March 13 -22 

​http://fedupmovie.com/fedupchallenge./ 

Fed Up Sugar Challenge Support Group Meetings
Need a little help getting through sugar withdrawal? Get by with a little help from your friends! Hear how your fellow Westies are coping with th challenge and share what's working for you.

Monday, March 13, 12:45-1:15pm, MSA 011
Wednesday, March 16, 1:00-1:30pm, GC210K
Tuesday, March 21, 11:30am-12pm, HLRC218

Book Discussions
Tuesday, April 11 2:30pm
Wednesday, April 12, 1pm
Wednesday, May 24, 1pm
Details TBD

GC=General Classrooms Building
HLRC=Library Building
FA=Fine Arts Building

 

Past Events:

Film Screenings:

In Defense of Food
Wednesday, February 22, 1-3pm, GC140
Tuesday, February 28, 6-8pm, HLRC218
Thursday, March 2, 11-1, FA100

News Flash!

Room Change

The Fed Up Sugar Challenge support group meeting scheduled for Wednesday, March 16th has been re-scheduled to 1-1:30pm.

Next Event

Image of flyer advertising lecture by Prof. Coffee on Pollan's use of persuasion in In Defense of Food