Skip to main content

English 101 - Puterbaugh: Home

This guide will help you get started on your research. It includes video tutorials on how to search library databases. Click on the two tabs at the top to review how to evaluate internet sources and how to cite your work.

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). 

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

ProQuest Cheat Sheet

ProQuest Video Tutorial

Recommended Databases

ProQuest is one of our most popular databases. It covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more. This would be a great place to search for current events information.

 

Use JSTOR to find scholarly journal articles on a variety of topics, including sociology, literature, political science, history and more.

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library consists of many specialized encyclopedias. It is ideal for finding a basic overview of topics. Information from encyclopedias is not updated as frequently as information from newspapers or magazines you'd find in ProQuest so it might not be best for the most current news but it's the perfect staring point for a general understanding of your topic. 

 

 

Below are some tips and reminders when you are searching in our databases:

  • Use quotations around your search terms to search for your exact phrase(s).
  • Use AND, OR, or NOT to connect your search terms. (see helpful image here)
  • Narrow by date range and content type (scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, reports, etc.)
  • Use truncation to find variations of words. For example, “alcohol*” will search for and locate “alcohol”, “alcoholics”, and “alcoholism”.

Do you need more help? E-mail me to set up a research appointment! Or visit any Librarian at the Reference Desk during our operating hours.

Choosing a Topic

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Formatting Works Cited

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Contact Us

Can't make it to the library? Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Library Hours

 

Monday-Thursday    7:30am - 8:00pm
Friday 9:00am - 1:00pm
Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm

 

 

Librarian

Maria Yanez's picture
Maria Yanez
Contact:
310-287-4433