Skip to main content

Communication Studies - Maybruck: Getting Started

Use this guide to get started on your research for Communication Studies 101.

Remote Access


Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format).

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

Want a little more guidance?

Don't forget you can stop by the reference desk any time for help from a friendly librarian!

Recommended Databases

This databases contains specialized encyclopedias. This is a great starting point for a broad overview of your topic.

Search ProQuest for articles about your topic. It offers a wide breadth of information from a variety of sources, including magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals and more.

Search Opposing Viewpoints for different points of views on current and controversial topics.

Click CQ Researcher below to search for different points of vew on current and controversial issues.

Database Searching Tips

Below are some suggested databases for your research as well as some search tips.

  • Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously.
    Example: immigration AND border control
  • Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either two or more keywords
    Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
    Example: (dog OR canine)
  • Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
    Example: "genetically modified food"
  • Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
    Example: parent* retrieves parent, parents, parenting, parenthood, etc.
  • Limit your results to academic or scholarly sources if you need academic sources.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search.
Example: juvenile* AND ("death penalty" OR "capital punishment")

Click the link below for a video tutorial and search tips for using ProQuest

Subject Guide

Susan Trujillo's picture
Susan Trujillo
Contact:
310-287-4269

24-hour Chat

Library Hours

2017/2018

Monday-Thursday    7:30am - 8:00pm
Friday    9:00am - 1:00pm
Saturday    11:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday    Closed