Skip to main content

History 41 - Lee: Quick Start

Get started on your research for African American studies through the Reconstruction Era

Remote Access

Access articles and electronic books from the Library's subscription databases from off-campus! When you click on a database, you will be prompted for your user name (your student ID) and PIN (the two-digit month and day of your birth in MMDD format). You can also go directly to https://library.wlac.edu.

Example for student with ID number 88-123-4567 born February 25th:

User name: 881234567
PIN: 0225

Library Catalog

Search for print books at the Library.

Want a little more guidance?

Don't forget you can stop by the reference desk any time for help from a friendly librarian!

JSTOR

JSTOR offers exclusively academic and scholarly journals for a variety of disciplines, primary sources and books. 

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

ProQuest

ProQuest is a database that covers a wide range of disciplines with content from academic journals, magazines, newspapers and more.

Other Databases

Below are two other databases that are great resources for finding biographical and historical information, articles, reviews, etc.

 

Database Searching

Below are suggested databases and search tips for your research.

  • Use AND to narrow your results by searching for two keywords simultaneously. 
    Example: slavery AND children
  • Use OR to broaden your results by searching for either of two or more keywords
    Enclose terms separated by OR in parentheses
    Example: (domestic OR household)
  • Use quotation marks ("") to search for terms as a phrase
    Example: "emancipation proclamation"
  • Use asterisks to retrieve additional forms of a word
    Example: wom* retrieves women, woman, women's.
  • Limit results to academic or scholarly sources for academic sources.
  • Limit results to reviews to see just book reviews.

Putting it all together

Use all the above search tip sto refine your search. 
Example: ("domestic slave" OR "house slave") AND wom*

Library Hours

 

Monday-Thursday    7:30am - 8:00pm
Friday 9:00am - 1:00pm
Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm

 

 

Chat

Can't make it to the library? Chat with a librarian any time!

live help

Subject Guide

Susan Trujillo's picture
Susan Trujillo
Contact:
310-287-4269